Uncategorized · Wrap-ups

Monthly Wrap-up: August 2019

Welcome, one and all, to my August wrap-up!

I have read a lot this month which is great- and probably linked to the Retelling-A-Thon. I haven’t blogged as much as I wanted to though which isn’t as great but it’s not that bad (and I was on holiday so it’s a miracle I got any blogging done). It’s been a very exciting month so without further ado, let’s dive in!

What I am reading:

Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

What I plan to read next:

Wonderland edited by Marie O’Regan and Paul Kane

Books I’ve Read:

(1) The Orphanage of Gods by Helena Coggan:

  • 1 star
  • It was an absolute waste of time and trees.

(2) The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller:

  • 3.5 Stars
  • An interesting and moving retelling of The Iliad but it wasn’t as good as Circe.

(3) The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker:

  • 4 stars
  • Another moving and powerful retelling of The Iliad.

(4) The Never Tilting World by Rin Chupeco:

  • 4 stars
  • It was an imaginative read based on the theme of climate change but framed in a fantasy setting.

(5) Song of Sorrow by Amanda Allen:

  • 3 Stars
  • An alright prequel to Rapunzel which I overall enjoyed.

(6) Shadow Frost by Coco Ma:

  • 4 stars
  • This was a fun, fantasy book- perfect for fans of Throne of Glass.

(7) Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce:

  • 3.5 Stars
  • This was a very different Little Red Riding Hood retelling with a satisfying ending.

(8) Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik:

  • 5 STARS!
  • I adored this book. It was perfect in every way!

(9) The Demon World by Sally Green:

  • 4 Stars
  • The gripping sequel to The Smoke Thieves that ended on the most cruel cliffhanger.

ARCs I’ve received:

ARCs (Advanced Readers’ Copies), proof copies or review copies are books freely given to people like book bloggers by publishers or authors before the release of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Digital ARCs:

  • The Monster by Seth Dickinson
  • Steel Crow Saga by Paul Krueger

Physical ARCs:

I’ve been emailing various publishers for months requesting physical ARCs to no avail. However, when I came back from holiday during August to not one but six physical ARCs and an awesome snake pin waiting for me! It was a dream come true! Here they are:

  • The Demon World by Sally Green
  • The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young
  • Wonderland edited by Marie O’Regan and Paul Kane
  • The Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh
  • Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron (I got the limited edition snake cover proof)
  • Exclusive Kingdom of Souls snake pin
  • Our Bloody Pearl by D.N. Bryn

Books I’ve Reviewed:

Discussion Posts:

Characters vs Plot… DISCUSS!

“What’s more important in a book: character development or a gripping plot?
The answer seems obvious: both are equally important. However, I’ve noticed that some books tend to lean towards either characters or plot to drive the story forward.

Antiheroes… DISCUSS!

“Well, remember when you were younger and in every story you thought there was a ‘goodie’ and a ‘baddie’? An antihero is both of those things and neither of them at the same time.”

My favourite post of the month:

This month I did my 100th post and it was all about my reading journey. It was a very emotional and special post to me.

Read the post here!


That’s all the reading and blogging of August wrapped up! What was your bookish month like? Let me know in the comments!

Uncategorized · Wrap-ups

Monthly Wrap-up: July 2019

Hi, hello and welcome to my monthly wrap-up for July!

I have read and blogged much, much less than I wanted to this month, mainly because for some reason it took me ages to read Darkdawn and I have been quite busy. However, I feel like my reading is picking up again and I hope to read loads this August- especially because I am co-hosting the RetellingAThon.

What I am reading:

The Orphanage of Gods by Helena Coggan

What I plan to read next:

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

Books I’ve Read:

(1) The Beckoning Shadow by Katharyn Blair:

  • 3.5 stars
  • It was an alright book that was basically about cage-fighting X-men. I liked learning about the different powers and unraveling the mysteries.

(2) Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff:

  • 4.5 Stars
  • It was the conclusion to one of my favourite series and while I loved it, I was slightly dissapointed with the ending.

(3) The Resurrecionist of Caligo by Wendy Trimboli and Alicia Zaloga

  • I have no idea what to rate this one!
  • A very weird book about murder, magic and medieval medecine. I still need time to mull over it!

Books I’ve Reviewed:

My favourite post of the month:

My post with all of the details about the RetellingAThon because I am really excited to co-host it this August!

Read the post here!



That’s all the reading and blogging of July wrapped up! What was your bookish month like? Let me know in the comments!

Uncategorized · Wrap-ups

Monthly Wrap-up: June 2019

Hello! This is my monthly wrap up for June.

Generally, it has been a really good month although I feel like I have recently hit a reading slump.

What I am reading:

The Beckoning Shadow by Katharyn Blair

What I plan to read next:

Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff

Books I’ve Read:

(1) The Beholder by Anna Bright:

  • 3 stars
  • It was a fun read with many references to fairy tales and mythology but the characters were a bit unrealistic and the romance contrived.

(2) Below by Alexandria Warwick:

  • 5 Stars
  • One of the most original books I’ve ever read and it certainly made for a magical ride.

(3) Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson:

  • 5 Stars
  • I adored everything about this book! The characters, the plot- it was all perfect!

(4) Queen of Ruin by Tracy Banghart:

  • 3 stars
  • I enjoyed it more than the first book but it was still far, far too slow paced for my liking.

(5) The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen:

  • 4 stars
  • It was an intriguing, imaginative read- I especially liked the magic system!

Books I’ve Reviewed:

My favourite post of the month:

I’ve two favourite posts!

My first is my post detailing the winners of the exciting event I recently held on my blog- The Book Character Awards. Read it here: The Book Character Awards | Winners!!!

The second is my post about my favourite names of characters and locations in fantasy books. Read it here: The Best of Bookish Names!



That’s my reading and blogging in June all wrapped up! What was your month like? Let me know in the comments!

Uncategorized · Wrap-ups

Monthly Wrap-Up | February 2019

Hello everyone! Today, I’ll be doing a monthly wrap up for February. This has been a really good month for books and I’ve read and reviewed loads of really good ones!

Books I’ve Read:

The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty:

4 stars

I liked this book but not as much as I thought I would because it was really long and dense. The characters were also a bit annoying.

The Martian by Andy Weir:

5 Stars

I loved The Martian! I would never, ever want to be stuck on Mars because it sounds TERRIFYING but the story was really engaging, exciting and funny and I really enjoyed it.

King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo:

5 Stars

King of Scars was amazing and it was a joy reading about Nina, Nikolai and Zoya again. I’m so excited for the next book to come out! Also, after reading it I realised that I really need to reread the Shadow and Bone trilogy and Six of Crows. Sometime soon, I’m going to write a super long gushing review for this book so watch out for it!

eARCs I’ve Read:

the mermaid’s voice returns in this one by Amanda Lovelace:

3 stars

I liked the message this book gave but I really didn’t like the writing style- it just didn’t agree with me.

Descendant of the Crane by Joan He:

5 stars

Descendant of the Crane was amazing! The plot twists, the characters, the writing- everything was just mind-blowingly good. I really hope the author writes a second book.

Whispers from the Depths by C. W. Briar:

4 stars

I liked this book because it felt like a cinematic experience while I was reading it. The characters were trapped in a house with evil water spirits trying to kill them and tension was built up so skilfully.

Beware the Night by Jessika Fleck:

3 stars

This book was pretty average because I felt like I’ve seen it all before. It wasn’t bad but I had loads of Red Queen and The Hunger Games vibes whilst reading it.

Books I’ve Reviewed:

This month, I’ve reviewed SO MANY good books. As you can see, they were all 5 or 4 stars. Generally, I tend to rate books highly because I’m really picky with what I read and I tend to read things that I know I will like- it’s not always a good thing but I do try to challenge myself occasionally.

My favourite post of the month:

My post about the link between slavery and Valentine’s day because it’s a really major issue that not many people seem to know about and I wanted to raise awareness about it. (Read it here: Roses: Symbols of Romance or of Suffering)


That’s my February in books all wrapped-up! How was your February? Let me know in the comments and if you’ve done a wrap-up feel free to link it- I’d love to read them!